How do you delete direct message history in Slack?

How do I delete my direct message history?

Deleting Discord DM History on Discord With Hotkeys

  1. hovering over it to reveal the right-side hamburger menu icon.
  2. clicking on the icon.
  3. selecting Delete.
  4. confirming the deletion by clicking the Delete button.

Does Slack delete direct messages?

By default, Slack will retain all messages for the lifetime of your workspace. Workspace Owners and Org Owners can adjust retention settings for individual public channels. If permitted, members can also set a custom message retention period for private channels and direct messages (DMs) that they’re a part of.

How do I archive a Slack direct message?

Export data

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Workspace settings.
  3. Click Import/Export Data in the top right.
  4. Select the Export tab.
  5. Below Export date range, open the drop-down menu to select an option.
  6. Click Start Export.

How do I delete Discord chat logs?

Delete Discord chat history

  1. Log into the channel with the chats you want to remove.
  2. Hover over a line of chat until you see the three dot menu icon appear on the right.
  3. Select the icon and select Delete from the dropdown menu.
  4. Repeat for every line of chat you want to remove.
THIS IS IMPORTANT  How do I manage project permissions in Jira?

How do I delete mee6 DMs?

There are two commands that mee6 uses to delete texts. The first one is ! clear @username. Just replace ‘username’ with the user whose messages you want to delete, and mee6 will do the magic!

Why do Slack direct messages disappear?

Once you have more than 11 direct messages (DMs) or group DMs open, any additional direct messages are expected to fall off the list if the DM is not opened during your current session, there has been no activity in the DM in the past week, or there are no unread messages in the DM.

How do I delete all messages in Slack?

Click on the Slack extension icon and select Delete MY messages option. Select the channel you want to delete messages from before you do it. Note that you can only delete your own messages and not the ones sent by others. They will have to bulk them themselves.

Are Slack direct messages private?

Direct messages (also known as “DMs”) are private messages among members. Other members in your organization will not be able to see your direct messages to coworkers. Your boss cannot easily access your private messages and isn’t reading your messages in real time.

Can Admin see deleted slack messages?

Slack does not archive deleted messages or provide a way to recover deleted information. Once a user deletes a particular message, that message is gone forever. However, Slack may still retain information about deleted messages that can be included in an electronic discovery export.

THIS IS IMPORTANT  Can we change subtask to bug in Jira?

How do I delete old files in slack?

Delete files

Find the file you’d like to delete. Click the three dots icon in the top right. Select Delete file, then click Yes, delete this file to confirm.

What happens when you reach 10000 messages on slack?

Members can send unlimited messages in Slack, but only the most recent 10,000 can be searched and viewed in your workspace. … If your workspace exceeds the message visibility limit, members can continue to send messages, but older messages will be archived.